Team Avolition
Sign in to follow this  
AnalAvenger

What's the best language to learn to fulfill these functions?

AnalAvenger    324

So, for my FBLA competition this year, I decided to do a most likely straight-to-nationals event, because nobody really knows how to do it until you get to the National level.

The event I chose is called "Coding and Programming", formerly "Desktop Application Development". I'm not really experienced at programming in any way, but I have up until February to design this program:

Coding & Programming-

Develop a database program to manage the general operations of a Family Entertainment Center (FEC). Give the FEC a name. The program must allow the user to compete at minimum the following tasks:

1. Enter/view/edit a list of employees.

2. Create/edit a weekly work schedule for employees

3. Generate/print weekly schedule reports

4. Enter attendance of customers

5. Enter/track, generate, and print report(s) showing customer attendance by time of day (AM/PM) and day of week.

What would be the best language to start learning for these purposes?

Edited by AnalAvenger

Noodles777    40

Since you're most likely looking at a database back end you'll need SQL, and a database management system (DBMS). I don't have any pros/cons for any particular DBMS, so might want to do some research, although off the top of my head I'd recommend MySQL. Pretty easy installation procedure on both Windows and Linux (though I feel like this can be said for almost any of them), and relatively easy to do configuration tasks etc. It should also have drivers for all major languages, which MySQL call "MySQL Connectors". These basically give you a nice and convenient way to execute SQL queries against your MySQL database directly from your code.