Team Avolition
Saltiren

How to get a job?

Saltiren    73

Title.

I just graduated from High School on the 9th and I've been searching for a job since late March. I have no money for college and that's out of the equation by now so I've been trying to apply for a minimum wage job. I haven't been able to get a single interview and it's getting to the point where I need a job or else I'll pretty much be shit outta luck. I have no previous work experience and no real accomplishments in high school, I've just been a decent student that didn't really do anything. I have no idea what to put on my resume other than "eager to learn, quick learner" ect. I've been applying at McDonalds, Subway, Albertson's, basically any fast food/retail position. I live in Las Vegas, a city of 2 million people so there's so much competition for the minimum wage jobs. I don't know how I'm supposed to get my first job honestly, I have no idea. I don't care how shitty of a job I get, I'm expecting a pretty horrid experience regardless, it's called 'work' for a reason. How did any of you get your first jobs? Any tips on where to apply and what to put on your resume?

revan114    1186

Mate if I can get a job, anyone can.

What I did was I basically waited a week after applying to the jobs, and then I called into them and asked if they received my application or not, and that usually made them pull up the application and look at it. It also shows eagerness to start.

Then again I worked at Whataburger, and it was a busy one with a high turn over rate, so...

• Upvote 1

iPickedScout    682

Title.