Team Avolition
crazydude156

Basic Java tutorial: Simple calculator

Hello users, I know this is nothing to Minecraft related, but I am learning Java and I would like to teach others what I am learning so they can become better at the Java language like me. Today I learned how to use Scanners and Standard output streams to make a simple calculator. So we will focus on the main details to create one.

What do you need?

* Eclipse - It is what I use and it is very simple.

* Basic Eclipse knowledge - How to open the program up and start a class in it.

* Really basic Java - Know what a semicolon is and what the brackets are used for etc.

* Eyes - I will go over almost every detail for better understanding so this tutorial is for beginners that are new to java.

What to keep in mind

This is my first tutorial on programming so I may not sound as clear.

I am a beginner on the Java language so if I can do it you can do it. I also appreciate opinions from the experts who are good at the Java language to tell me what I can work on.

This is really basic and I am pretty confident that I can help others struggling with this.

Tutorial

So let's open up Eclipse in whatever folder you have and create a class called, Calculator. At the top of "public class" we are going to import. Import all it does is it allows us to use certain things in our code like Scanners. So let's add 'import java.util.Scanner;' This will allow us to use Scanner. With this it will let us answer things to a question when the program tells us to. Remember also the semicolon is just a period in a sentence but in Java language!

Now go into the brackets( { } ) of the class and insert 'public static void main(String args[])'. It is basically java's name and it tells the difference between other mains. 'String arg[]' are just more strings in the code.

After that we are going to create the guts of the code that will make up the rest of the tutorial. Add some brackets under 'public static void main(String